Site Navigation

Princeton to Visit West Virginia for NCAA Women's Soccer First Round

Princeton to Visit West Virginia for NCAA Women's Soccer First Round

Bracket: Interactive | PDF

Ivy League Women's Soccer Complete Postseason Release in pdf format

Courtesy of Princeton Athletic Communications

PRINCETON, N.J. -- The Princeton women's soccer team will head to West Virginia to open the 2012 NCAA tournament, the program's 10th in its history, on Saturday, Nov. 10 at 7 p.m.

The teams have met only once before, in the 2008 NCAA tournament at Virginia. The Mountaineers scored in the 11th and 26th minutes to build a lead Princeton only managed to halve on a goal by Jen Om '09 in the 89th minute.

On an 11-match win streak, the Tigers (13-3-1) will face a West Virginia team that took a 10-match unbeaten streak into the Big 12 tournament before losing to TCU in the opening match of that bracket. The Mountaineers went 11-4-4 in the regular season and 7-0-1 in its inaugural year in the Big 12 conference.

Princeton was also unbeaten in league play, becoming the fifth team in the 22 seasons of eight-team Ivy League women's soccer to go 7-0-0. The Tigers are led on offense by Jen Hoy, whose 17 goals were the second-most in a season in program history, and Lauren Lazo, who had a hat trick in the bid-clinching win over Penn this past Saturday to reach 10 goals on the season.

Princeton boasts the third-ranked scoring offense in the nation, averaging 2.88 goals per game. Hoy individually ranks third in the nation in goals per game at an even 1.0. The Tigers were also ranked No. 1 in the Mid-Atlantic region, out of nine regions total, in the Oct. 30 NSCAA poll and received votes in that week's national poll.

West Virginia is led by junior Frances Silva, with 10 goals, and sophomore Kate Schwindel, with nine. The Mountaineers first made the NCAA tournament in 2000 and haven't missed since, making their 13th straight appearance.

In a change from recent years, including the last time Princeton was in the tournament in 2008, the 64 teams will play at 32 sites with just one game over the opening weekend.