Site Navigation

Women's Soccer All-Ivy -- 2012

Women's Soccer All-Ivy -- 2012

Photos courtesy of Dartmouth Athletics Communications and Princeton Athletic Communications

PRINCETON, N.J. -- For the second-straight year, the Ivy League women's soccer champion also provided the Player of the Year, as Princeton senior Jen Hoy (Sellersville, Pa.) earned the 2012 honor after a vote by the League's eight coaches. The Tigers, who became the fifth team overall to go 7-0-0 in Ivy play and the first since they accomplished the feat in 2004, placed eight players among the 2012 All-Ivy teams, tied with Dartmouth for the League-lead.

The Big Green, which finished second in the League with a 6-1-0 mark, took home the other League postseason award, as freshman Corey Delaney (Chatham, N.J.) was a unanimous selection for Rookie of the Year.

Hoy is the Tigers first Player of the Year since Diana Matheson earned the award in 2007. Hoy ranks seventh in the nation in goals (17) and 10th in points (38) and leads the League in both categories. She currently has the second-highest single-season goals total in Princeton history, trailing only Esmeralda Negron's 20 in 2004. Hoy was unanimously voted first-team All-Ivy, the third-straight season in which she has earned All-Ivy accolades and the second-consecutive year she was named to the first team. Hoy was a three-time Player of the Week honoree in 2012 (Sept. 3, Sept. 24, Oct. 15).

Four of Hoy's teammates joined her on the first team in seniors Alison Nabatoff (Burke, Va.) and Rachel Sheehy (Exton, Pa.), junior Gabriella Guzman (Bridgewater, N.J.) and sophomore Lauren Lazo (Scottsdale, Ariz.). Lazo led the League with 17 points and eight goals in Ivy play.

Delaney is Dartmouth's first Rookie of the Year since Jessica Post shared the award with Yale's Lorelei Wall in 1996, and the Big Green's first outright Rookie of the Year since Melissa McBean in 1993. Delaney was also voted to the All-Ivy first team after posting nine points on two goals and a team-high five assists in 2012, including four points on a goal and two assists in Ivy play. Delaney was named Rookie of the Week three times in 2012, on Sept. 17, Sept. 24 and Oct. 22.

Delaney was joined on the first team by sophomore goalkeeper Tatiana Saunders (Rye, N.Y.), junior midfielder Chrissy Lozier (Fairfield, Conn.), senior forward Emma Brush (Grosse Pointe Park, Mich.) and senior defender Aurelia Solomon (Washington). Lozier was also a unanimous selection to the first team, joining Hoy. The Big Green earned first team honors for the first time since 2009, and the five players on the first team in 2012 are the most for Dartmouth since six earned the honor in 1994.

Due to ties in the voting, there were an unprecedented 17 first-team All-Ivy recipients, including five each from Princeton and Dartmouth and three from Penn. The previous record for members of the All-Ivy first team was 14, set in 1999.

Quakers junior midfielder Erin Beck (Fort Wayne, Ind.) earned her second-straight first team honor, but there were a number of first-time recipients, including the 2009 co-Rookies of the Year, Princeton's Nabatoff and Yale senior Kristen Forster (Trumbull, Conn.).

Columbia senior Isabel King (San Francisco) received her first career All-Ivy accolade, as did Brown junior Mika Siegelman (Piedmont, Calif.). Harvard was represented on the first team by sophomore Meg Casscells-Hamby (Winter Park, Fla.), who was named to the second team in 2011.

Cornell placed two players on the second team in senior Maneesha Chitanvis (Los Alamos, N.M.) and sophomore Claire MacManus (Rosemont, Pa.). For Chitanvis, it marks her third-straight All-Ivy honor after receiving Honorable Mention accolades the past two seasons.

Jen Hoy, Princeton (Sr., F – Sellersville, Pa.)

Corey Delaney, Dartmouth (Fr., M – Chatham, N.J.)*

Alex Dayneka, Penn (Sr., D – Solon, Ohio)
Isabel King, Columbia (Sr., D – San Francisco)
Alison Nabatoff, Princeton (Sr., D – Burke, Va.)
Aurelia Solomon, Dartmouth (Sr., D - Washington)

Erin Beck, Penn (Sr., M – Fort Wayne, Ind.)
Meg Casscells-Hamby, Harvard (So., M – Winter Park, Fla.)
Corey Delaney, Dartmouth (Fr., M – Chatham, N.J.)
Kristen Forster, Yale (Sr., M – Trumbull, Conn.)
Gabriella Guzman, Princeton (Jr., M – Bridgewater, N.J.)
Chrissy Lozier, Dartmouth (Jr., M – Fairfield, Conn.)*
Rachel Sheehy, Princeton (Sr., M – Exton, Pa.)
Mika Siegelman, Brown (Jr., M – Piedmont, Calif.)

Emma Brush, Dartmouth (Sr., F – Grosse Pointe Park, Mich.)
Jen Hoy, Princeton (Sr., F – Sellersville, Pa.)*
Lauren Lazo, Princeton (So., F – Scottsdale, Ariz.)
Kerry Scalora, Penn (Jr., F – Berlin, Conn.)

Tatiana Saunders, Dartmouth (So., GK – Rye, N.Y.)

Erika Garcia, Harvard (So., D – Carson City, Nev.)
Annie Gillen, Brown (So., D – San Clemente, Calif.)
Torrey Leroy, Yale (Sr., D – West Hartford, Conn.)
Brianna Rano, Penn (Jr., D – Branchburg, N.J.)
Emily Wingrove, Brown (Jr., D – Westwood, Mass.)

Claire MacManus, Cornell (So., M – Rosemont, Pa.)
Kim Rose, Dartmouth (Sr., M – Seaford, N.Y.)
Haley Washburn, Harvard (Fr., M – Folsom, Calif.)

Caitlin Blosser, Princeton (Sr., F – Pacific Palisades, Calif.)
Maneesha Chitanvis, Cornell (Sr., F – Los Alamos, N.M.)
Beverly Leon, Columbia (Jr., F – Wrentham, Mass.)

Bethany Kanten, Harvard (So., GK – Park City, Utah)
Claire Pinciaro, Princeton (Sr., GK – Monroe, Conn.)

Jackie Friedman, Dartmouth (Fr., D – Rancho Santa Fe, Calif.)
Diane Metcalf-Leggette, Princeton (Jr., D – Centreville, Va.)
Catherine Troup, Columbia (So., D – Bethesda, Md.)

Marina Moschitto, Dartmouth (Jr., F – Andover, Mass.)
Elizabeth Weisman, Harvard (Jr., F – Atherton, Calif.)

Amber Bledsoe, Brown (Jr., GK – Cincinnati)
Grace Redmon, Columbia (So., GK – University Heights, Ohio)

* Unanimous Selection
^ Due to ties in the voting, the first and second All-Ivy teams were expanded from 11