Site Navigation

Penn's Dwyer, Harvard's Purce Named to 2014 MAC Hermann Watch List

Penn's Dwyer, Harvard's Purce Named to 2014 MAC Hermann Watch List

NSCAA MAC Hermann Watch List Release

Portions of this story and photos courtesy of Harvard and Penn Athletic Communications

PRINCETON, N.J. -- A pair of Ivy League women’s soccer student-athletes were among the 35 players on the Missouri Athletic Club (MAC) Hermann Trophy Watch List, it was announced.

Penn junior Caroline Dwyer and Harvard sophomore Midge Purce, who between them swept the 2013 Ivy League postseason awards, are two of just 13 non-seniors on the list. It marks the second preseason honor for each player, as they were also named second-team Preseason All-America by

It marks the first time multiple Ivies are on the list in the same year and the first appearance by an Ivy since 2006 (Yale’s Christina Huang).

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the most prestigious individual award in NCAA soccer and is presented annually to one male and one female athlete. This year’s winners will be announced Friday, Jan. 9, 2015, at the trophy presentation banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

The lists are compiled by the NSCAA Men’s and Women’s NCAA Division I All-America Committees, based on their analysis of returning All-America and All-Region players, as well as any prominent newcomers.

Dwyer is the reigning Ivy League Defensive Player of the Year. Last year, she earned first-team All-Ivy and third-team NSCAA All-America honors as a sophomore. Penn went 12-1-4 last season, setting a program record for fewest losses, and allowed just eight goals while shutting out 12 of its 17 opponents. The Red and Blue will open its 2014 season on Friday, Sept. 5 at Mount St. Mary’s.

Purce, who is currently competing with the United States U-20 National Team in the Women's World Cup, finished her freshman campaign as the Ivy League's Player and Rookie of the Year, compiling 11 goals and four assists for 28 points in 16 games for the Crimson. Harvard closed out the season with a 12-4-2 overall record, including an unblemished 7-0 record in the Ancient Eight.

Near the end of the collegiate regular season, NCAA Division I coaches that are NSCAA members will vote on their top choices and the lists will be narrowed down to the top 15 players. College soccer fans will also have the opportunity to participate in the selection process, by voting for their favorite semifinalist in November at the MAC Hermann Trophy website, managed by LockerDome.

From that pool of 30, six finalists (three men, three women) will be chosen for the award. The winners will be announced in January.