Site Navigation

Women's Squash All-Ivy -- 2011-12

Women's Squash All-Ivy -- 2011-12

Photo courtesy of Harvard Athletic Communications

PRINCETON, N.J. -- Harvard freshman Amanda Sobhy capped off an amazing rookie campaign by sweeping the 2011-12 Ivy League Player and Rookie of the Year honors, as voted on by the League's eight head coaches.

Sobhy (Sea Cliff, N.Y.) was a unanimous choice for Player of the Year and first-team All-Ivy to go along with her Rookie of the Year honor. She posted a perfect season with a 15-0 record, including a 6-0 mark in Ivy matches, led the Crimson to the 2012 College Squash Association (CSA) Howe Cup and captured the Ramsay Cup to earn the title as the individual national champion in collegiate women's squash.

Sobhy is the 14th person in Ivy League history to win Player and Rookie of the Year in the same season and the fourth in women's squash following Princeton's Julia Beaver in 1997-98, Harvard's Lily Lorentzen in 2005-06 and Harvard's Laura Gemmell in 2009-10.

Six other players joined Sobhy as unanimous first-team selections, including her Crimson teammate Gemmell (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) who was named Player of the Year and first-team All-Ivy the previous two seasons. Gemmell went 14-3 overall (6-1 in Ivy matches) in her junior season for Harvard. She lost to Yale sophomore Camilla Tomlinson (Derbyshire, United Kingdom), also a unanimous first-team pick this season, in the semifinals of the Ramsay Cup. Earning first-team honors for a second-straight year, Tomlinson lost 3-0 to Sobhy in the 2012 final.

Tomlinson had to get past fellow Bulldog Kimberley Hay (Newcastle, United Kingdom) in the Ramsay Cup quarterfinals. Hay was also chosen unanimously to the first team after putting up a 6-1 mark at the No. 2 spot for Yale this season.

Princeton junior Julie Cerullo (Brooklyn, N.Y.) was a first-team selection for the third-consecutive season. Cerullo was stellar for the Tigers at the No. 1 spot all season, compiling a 5-2 record in Ivy play. She helped Princeton to a fourth-place team finish and reached the Ramsay Cup semifinals before falling to Sobhy.

A unanimous first-team choice for the second-straight year, Penn junior Nabilla Ariffin (Penang, Malaysia) played mostly at No. 1 for the Quakers this season. She went 8-9 overall and 3-4 in League matches. In the Howe Cup consolation final, she felll to Cornell freshman Danielle Letourneau (Calgary, Alberta, Canada), who received her first unanimous first-team honor this season as well. Letourneau went 4-3 in Ivy matches for the Big Red.

Also earning first-team honors for a second-straight season were Cornell junior Jaime Laird (Calgary, Alberta, Canada) and Penn junior Rachael Goh (Kuching, Malaysia). Harvard senior Nirasha Guruge (Colombo, Sri Lanka) got her second first-team honor as well after being selected two seasons ago.

Player of the Year
*Amanda Sobhy, Harvard (Fr., Sea Cliff, N.Y.)

Rookie of the Year
Amanda Sobhy, Harvard (Fr., Sea Cliff, N.Y.)

First Team All-Ivy^
Jaime Laird, Cornell (Jr., Calgary, Alberta, Canada)
*Danielle Letourneau, Cornell (Fr., Calgary, Alberta, Canada)
Corey Schafer, Dartmouth (Jr., Natick, Mass.)
*Laura Gemmell, Harvard (Jr., Toronto)
Nirasha Guruge, Harvard (Sr., Colombo, Sri Lanka)
*Amanda Sobhy, Harvard (Fr., Sea Cliff, N.Y.)
*Nabilla Ariffin, Penn (Jr., Penang, Malaysia)
Rachael Goh, Penn (Jr., Kuching, Malaysia)
*Julie Cerullo, Princeton (Jr., Brooklyn, N.Y.)
Elizabeth Eyre, Princeton (So., Gladwyne, Pa.)
*Kimberley Hay, Yale (So., Newcastle, United Kingdom)
*Camilla Tomlinson, Yale (So., Derbyshire, United Kingdom)

* Unanimous Selection
^ Expanded to 12 players due to ties in voting