Site Navigation

Women's Tennis All-Ivy -- 2011-12

Women's Tennis All-Ivy -- 2011-12

PRINCETON, N.J. -- It is only fitting that Nicole Bartnik became the first Columbia women's tennis player to be named the Ivy League Player of the Year.

All the junior from Bradenton, Fla., did during the 2011-12 season was lead the Lions to the most overall (13) and Ivy League (4) wins in a season in school history. The four conference victories gave Columbia its first-ever winning League record in the history of its women's tennis program.

Bartnik is the first Columbia player to be named Player of the Year since the award started with the 1994-95 season. She also tabbed a unanimous first-team All-Ivy selection in singles for the second time in as many seasons by the League's eight head coaches.

Bartnik posted a stellar junior campaign with a going a perfect 7-0 in Ivy matches at No. 1 spot. She won 14 of her 17 dual matches in the spring and totaled a 29-9 overall record for the season.

Playing at the top single spot for Penn, freshman Agustina Sol Eskenazi (Buenos Aires, Argentina) posted an equally-impressive season, earning her a trifecta of honors -- Rookie of the Year, unanimous first-team All-Ivy in singles and first-team All-Ivy in doubles. She is fifth Quaker to win the Rookie of the Year award following Anastasia Pozdniakova (1997), Sanela Kunovac (2001), Ekaterina Kosminskaya (2007) and Connie Hsu (2011). It marks the first time the third time a school won Rookie of the Year in back-to-back seasons (Harvard did it twice in 1995-96 and 2005-06).

Eskenazi made her mark for the Quakers in singles with a 19-5 record overall, including a 5-2 mark against Ancient Eight foes. She teamed with junior Julianna Rodin (Philadelphia) in doubles to compile a 10-4 record at No. 1. Thanks to three wins in four matches against ranked opponents during the spring, Eskenazi and Rodin currently sit at 48th in the most recent Campbell/Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) Rankings.

Harvard junior Hideko Tachibana (Canyon Country, Texas) and Yale junior Elizabeth Epstein (Chicago) join Bartnik and Eskenazi as unanimous choices on the first team in singles. Another pair of juniors, Brown's Misia Krasowki (Deerfield, Ill.) and Dartmouth's Sarah Leonard (Norwalk, Conn.), round out the first-team singles selections.

Tachibana receives first-team accolades in singles for a second time (2010, 2012), while Krasowski garners the recognition on the singles first team for a second-straight year. Epstein and Leonard appear on the first team for the first time in their respective careers as both were second-team picks a year ago.

Princeton senior Hilary Bartlett (New York) paired with freshman Lindsay Graff (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.) this season after three years playing with Taylor Marable and produced the same result -- another first-team All-Ivy season in doubles. She is the sixth player all-time to be named a part of a first-team All-Ivy doubles team four times, following Yale's Connie Yowell (1982-85) and Cindy Kuragami (1992-95), Harvard's Kathy Vigna (1984-87) and Jamie Henikoff (1988-91) and Princeton's Lauren Fortgang (1989-92).

Receiving the only unanimous selection in doubles, Cornell junior Sarah O'Neil (Lynnfield, Mass.) and freshman Lauren Frazier (Greenville, N.C.) become the first Big Red duo in school history to be voted first-team All-Ivy. The Cornell pair posted an 8-3 overall record, with an impressive 5-2 mark at the No. 1 spot in dual matches.

Senior Vicky Brook (London, England) and freshman Amber Li (Tampa, Fla.), one of Yale's three ITA ranked doubles teams, round out the first-team choices in doubles. Currently ranked 81st in the nation, Brook and Li have been essential to the Bulldogs to winning 21 of 22 doubles points in dual matches this season and advancing to their second-straight and third overall trip to the NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championships.

Player of the Year
*Nicole Bartnik, Columbia (Jr., Bradenton, Fla.)

Rookie of the Year
Agustina Sol Eskenazi, Penn (Fr., Buenos Aires, Argentina)

First Team All-Ivy
Misia Krasowki, Brown (Jr., Deerfield, Ill.)
*Nicole Bartnik, Columbia (Jr., Bradenton, Fla.)
Sarah Leonard, Dartmouth (Jr., Norwalk, Conn.)
*Hideko Tachibana, Harvard (Jr., Canyon Country, Texas)
*Agustina Sol Eskenazi, Penn (Fr., Buenos Aires, Argentina)
*Elizabeth Epstein, Yale (Jr., Chicago)

*Sarah O'Neil (Jr., Lynnfield, Mass.) and Lauren Frazier (Fr., Greenville, N.C.), Cornell
Agustina Sol Eskenazi (Fr., Buenos Aires, Argentina) and Julianna Rodin (Jr., Philadelphia), Penn
Hilary Bartlett (Sr., New York) and Lindsay Graff (Fr., Fort Lauderdale, Fla.), Princeton
Amber Li (Fr., Tampa, Fla.) and Vicky Brook (Sr., London, England), Yale

Second Team All-Ivy
Bianca Sanon, Columbia (So., Plantation, Fla.)
Sarah O'Neil, Cornell (Jr., Lynnfield, Mass.)
Kristin Norton, Harvard (Jr., Port Washington, N.Y.)
Stephanie Do, Penn (So., Dallas)
Lindsay Graff, Princeton (Fr., Fort Lauderdale, Fla.)
Blair Seideman, Yale (So., Brookville, N.Y.)

Bianca Sanon (So., Plantation, Fla.) and Tiana Takenaga (Westminster, Calif.), Columbia
Kristin Norton (Jr., Port Washington, N.Y.) and Hideko Tachibana (Jr., Canyon Country, Texas), Harvard
Elizabeth Epstein (Jr., Chicago) and Annie Sullivan (So., Deerfield, Ill.), Yale

* Unanimous Selection