Site Navigation

Princeton, Columbia Set to Play in NCAA Women's Tennis Championship

Princeton, Columbia Set to Play in NCAA Women's Tennis Championship


Portions courtesy of

INDIANAPOLIS -- Ivy League women's tennis placed two teams in Princeton and Columbia in the field of 64 for the 2014 NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championship.

The League boasts two or more teams in the NCAA Tournament for just the sixth time (1996, 1997, 2003, 2006, 2010 and 2014) in conference history.

League champion Princeton (18-5, 7-0 Ivy League) rolls down to the Roberta Alison Baumgardner Tennis Facility in Tuscaloosa, Ala. to take on Arizona State (18-7, 5-5 Pac-12) in a first-round matchup on Friday, May 9. The host Crimson Tide has Jackson State in its opener and is set to host a second-round match on Saturday, May 10.

Columbia (16-4, 5-2 Ivy) had its name called for first time ever, drawing Kentucky (16-11, 5-8 SEC) in a first-round match set for Friday, May 10 at Virginia's Snyder Tennis Center. The host Cavaliers have Youngstown State in the first round and is slated to host a second-round match on Saturday, May 10.

Princeton, ranked 50th in the latest Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) Rankings, is back in NCAA Tournament for the fifth time and the first time since back-to-back appearances in 2009 and 2010. The Tigers seek their first postseason win.

Ranked 40th by the ITA, Columbia comes into the NCAA Tournament having won 12 of its last 14 matches. The Lions earned one of the 33 at-large bids to this year's tournament.

The Ivy League has compiled a 15-30 (.333) record in the championship since 1983.

First and second-round competition takes place on May 9-10 and features four teams playing in a single-elimination format. The winner of each site advances to Georgia's Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Georgia, where the 16 teams will compete for the national championship on May 15-20.

Tournament matches will be regulation dual matches with three eight-game, pro-set doubles played for one team point, followed by six singles matches, each valued at one team point, played in best-of-three sets. Regular scoring will be used and a 12-point tiebreaker will be played at seven-games-all in doubles and at six-games-all in singles.