Site Navigation

Dartmouth's D'Agostino Named USTFCCCA Female Outdoor Track Scholar Athlete of the Year

Dartmouth's D'Agostino Named USTFCCCA Female Outdoor Track Scholar Athlete of the Year

Portions of this story courtesy of Dartmouth Athletics Communications

USTFCCCA DI Scholar Women of the Year Release | USTFCCCA D1 Scholar Men of the Year Release

NEW ORLEANS -- The US Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) has honored Dartmouth runner Abbey D’Agostino as the Female Outdoor Track Scholar Athlete of the Year.
A sophomore in 2011-12, D’Agostino rewrote the Big Green record books this spring. A first-team All-American and NCAA Division I National Champion in the 5,000m, the second-year harrier put together arguably one of the most successful individual campaigns in program history.
Hernational title in the 5,000 was the first ever for a Dartmouth woman as shenarrowly edged out the second-place finisher by just three-hundredths of second to earn the crown in early June at Drake Stadium in Des Moines.
D’Agostino is the first Dartmouth or Ivy League student-athlete to be presented with any of the four major annual scholarly awards presented by the USTFCCCA on either the men’s or women’s side since the program began in 2007. She was also named the USTFCCCA 2012 Northeast Region Track Athlete of the Year for the outdoor season.
Scholar Athlete of the Year Awards are determined from among those who earned All-Academic status and placed highest in individual events at the most recent NCAA Championships. Those who earn multiple individual championship titles rank higher in the tie-breaking process, and cumulative grade-point average is weighed as the final tiebreaker to establish a winner. Separate awards are given to track athletes and field athletes for the indoor and outdoor seasons, resulting in four categories for each men and women.
D’Agostino was honored not only for her record-setting season on the track, but also for earning a 3.65 cumulative GPA in psychology in the classroom.
To qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Track & Field Team, the student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative grade-point average of 3.25 and have met either of the followingathletic standards: for the indoor season, a student-athlete must have finished the regular season ranked in the national top 96 in an individual event or ranked in the national top 48 (collective listing) in a relay event on the official NCAA POP list provided by; for the outdoor season, a student-athlete must have participated in any round of the NCAA Division I Championships (including preliminary rounds).
California’s Deborah Maier was named the Indoor Track Scholar Athlete of the Year with a3.82 GPA, while Brigetta Barrett from Arizona earned the indoor field honors for carrying a mark of 3.51. The Outdoor Field Scholar Athlete of the Year honor was presented to Brittany Borman of Oklahoma for her 3.75 GPA.

D'Agostino also earned USTFCCCA Division I Track & Field All-Academic Honors, as were 60 other Ivy League student athletes, respresenting Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Harvard, Princeton and Yale.

USTFCCCA 2012 Division I Track & Field All-Academic Honorees
Heidi Caldwell
Kevin Cooper     
Daniel Lowry     
Lauren Waterbury

Mallory Anderson
Clare Buck
Connor Claflin
Nicolas Composto
Brendon Fish     
Erin Gillingham
John Gregorek
Marvellous Iheukuwmere
Byron Jones
Emily Lanois
Harrison McFann
Michael Murphy
Waverly Neer
Madeline Rathbun

Chase Aaronson
Ebolutalese Airewele
Chris Arlinghaus
Bob Belden
Josh Cusick
Claire Dishong
Molly Glantz
Dan Hagberg     
Ailish Hanly
Nick Huber
Kaitlin Kellner
Brett Kelly
Devin McMahon
Anjelique Parnell
Chris Ryan
Emily Woodford

John Bleday
Abbey D’Agostino
Brett Gilson
Alexi Pappas     

Nicole Cochran
Adabelle Ekechukwu
Mary Hirst
Kailyn Kuzmuk
Erika Veidis
Shannon Watt
Olivia Weeks
Darcy Wilson     

Alejandro Arroyo Yamin
Alex Banfich
Peter Callahan
Theresa Devine
Thomas Diaylnas
Molly Higgins
Trevor Van Ackeren
Tory Worthen

Matthew Bieszard
Melissa Chapman
John Van Deventer
Kira Garry
Nihal Kayali     
Elizabeth Marvin
Lindsey Raymond