Site Navigation

Dartmouth, Harvard and Yale Named 2009-10 AVCA Team Academic Award Recipients

Dartmouth, Harvard and Yale Named 2009-10 AVCA Team Academic Award Recipients

Portions courtesy of Dartmouth Athletics Communications

LEXINGTON, K.Y. -- Three Ivy women's volleyball teams -- Dartmouth, Harvard and Yale -- were among 94 NCAA Division I teams earning American Volleyball Coaches Association Team Academic Award distinction following the 2009-10 season.

Since 1993, the AVCA Team Academic Award has been presented to collegiate and high school volleyball teams that have displayed excellence in the classroom during the school year by maintaining at least a 3.30 cumulative team grade-point average on a 4.0 scale or a 4.10 cumulative team GPA on a 5.0 scale.

In 2009-10, 94 Division I schools earned the academic award as the NCAA Division I Women’s division had the highest number of teams honored, as well as the largest percentage of teams honored at 34%. In all, 450 teams from eight collegiate and high school divisions earned recognition from the AVCA, breaking the previous record of 409 teams from a year ago.

NCAA Division I Women (94)

University of Akron (Akron, OH)

University of Alabama (Tuscaloosa, AL)

American University (Washington, DC)

Appalachian State University (Boone, NC)

University of Arkansas-Little Rock (Little Rock, AR)

Belmont University (Nashville, TN)

Bowling Green State University, (Bowling Green, OH)

Bradley University (Peoria, IL)

University at Buffalo (Buffalo, NY)

University of Central Arkansas (Conway, AR)

Central Connecticut State University (New Britain, CT)

University of Central Florida (Orlando, FL)

Central Michigan University (Mount Pleasant, MI)

Creighton University (Omaha, NE)

Dartmouth College (Hanover, NH)

University of Dayton (Dayton, OH)

University of Denver (Denver, CO)

DePaul University (Chicago, IL)

Drake University (Des Moines, IA)

Duke University (Durham, NC)

East Carolina University (Greenville, NC)

East Tennessee State University (Johnson City, TN)

Eastern Michigan University (Ypsilanti, MI)

Eastern Washington University (Cheney, WA)

Elon University (Elon, NC)

University of Evansville (Evansville, IN)

Fordham University (Cortlandt Manor, NY)

Fresno State University (Fresno, CA)

University of Hartford (West Hartford, CT)

Harvard University (Boston, MA)

Houston Baptist University (Houston, TX)

Illinois State University (Normal, IL)

Indiana State University (Terre Haute, IN)

Indiana University-Purdue University, Fort Wayne (Fort Wayne, IN)

Jacksonville State University (Jacksonville, AL)

Jacksonville University (Jacksonville, FL)

University of Kansas (Lawrence, KS)

Lipscomb University (Nashville, TN)

Marist College (Poughkeepsie, NY)

Marshall University (Huntington, WV)

University of Memphis (Memphis, TN)

Messiah College (Grantham, PA)

Miami University (Oxford, OH)

University of Miami (Coral Gables, FL)

Mississippi State University (Starkville, MS)

Missouri State University (Springfield, MO)

Montana State University (Bozeman, MT)

Morehead State University (Morehead, KY)

University of New Mexico (Albuquerque, NM)

Niagara University (Lewiston, NY)

University of North Carolina at Asheville (Asheville, NC)

North Dakota State University (Fargo, ND)

Northern Arizona University (Flagstaff, AZ)

University of Northern Colorado (Greeley, CO)

Northern Illinois University (DeKalb, IL)

Oakland University (Rochester, MI)

Ohio University (Athens, OH)

University of Oklahoma (Norman, OK)

University of Oregon (Eugene, OR)

Oregon State University (Corvallis, OR)

Providence College (Providence, RI)

Quinnipiac University (Hamden, CT)

Rice University (Houston, TX)

Rider University  (Lawrenceville, NJ)

Rutgers University (New Brunswick, NJ)

Saint Francis University (Loretto, PA)

Saint Louis University (Saint Louis, MO)

Seton Hall University (South Orange, NJ)

University of South Alabama (Mobile, AL)

University of South Carolina (Columbia, SC)

University of South Carolina Upstate (Spartanburg, SC)

Southeast Missouri State University (Cape Girardeau, MO)

Southern Illinois University (Carbondale, IL)

Southern Illinois University Edwardsville (Edwardsville, IL)

University of Southern Mississippi (Hattiesburg, MS)

Stanford University (Palo Alto, CA)

Stephen F Austin University (Nacogdoches, TX)

Syracuse University (Syracuse, NY)

University of Tennessee at Chattanooga (Chattanooga, TN)

University of Texas at Arlington (Arlington, TX)

Texas Christian University (Fort Worth, TX)

University of Toledo (Toledo, OH)

Troy University (Troy, AL)

Tulane University (New Orleans, LA)

Western Illinois University (Macomb, IL)

Western Kentucky University (Bowling Green, KY)

Western Michigan University (Kalamazoo, MI)

Wichita State University (Wichita, KS)

Winthrop University (Rock Hill, SC)

University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (Milwaukee, WI)

Wright State University (Dayton, OH)

University of Wyoming (Laramie, WY)

Xavier University (Cincinnati, OH)

Yale University (New Haven, CT)