Site Navigation

Cornell Edges Columbia for the 2011 Women's Heptagonal Cross Country Championship, Dartmouth's D'Agostino Claims Individual Title

Dartmouth's Abbey D'Agostino claimed the individual title at the 2011 Ivy League Heptagonal Cross Country Championship.
Dartmouth's Abbey D'Agostino claimed the individual title at the 2011 Ivy League Heptagonal Cross Country Championship.

Complete Women's Results | Photo Gallery

PRINCETON, N.J. -- On a cold and snowy day at Princeton's West Windsor Fields, the Cornell women's cross country team earned 49 points to take its fifth Ivy League Heptagonal Championship and its first since 1998, ending Princeton's five-year reign at the top. Columbia fell just short of the title, tallying 51 points to place second, while the Tigers finished third with 94 points.

The winning margin was the closest since 1980, when the Tigers won the Championship over Harvard by one point (62-63). Cornell becomes the first team other than Princeton and Columbia to win the championship in nine years. The last squad to take first was Yale in 2001.

Big Green sophomore Abbey D'Agostino, running in her first Ivy League cross country championship after missing last season due to injury, won the individual title with a time of 21:58.2. She is the first Dartmouth runner since Jenna Rogers in 1997 to win the individual championship.

Juniors Katie Kellner (22:13.5) and Genna Hartung (22:14.5) paved the way to the championship with a fourth and fifth-place finish, respectively. Sophomores Emily Shearer (11th; 22:31.9) and Devin McMahon (12th; 22:32.4) as well as senior Janel Parker (17th; 22:42.9) all placed in the top-20 as the Big Red recorded their best score since 1993, when it won the championship with 31 points.

The Lions saw three runners place in the top-10 in freshman Waverly Neer (second; 22:02.7) and juniors Caroline McDonough (sixth; 22:15.5) and Clare Buck (ninth; 22:30.0). Princeton senior Alex Banfich took third with a time of 22:04.9, but the Tigers' next runner crossed the line in 15th-place, as junior Greta Feldman recorded a time of 22:40.2

The top seven individual finishers earn All-Ivy first team honors and the eighth through 14th-place winners receive second team accolades.

Final Team Standings (Points)
1. Cornell (49)
2. Columbia (51)
3. Princeton (94)
4. Yale (104)
5. Dartmouth (119)
6. Harvard (129)
7. Brown (153)
8. Penn (226)

2011 Women's Cross Country All-Ivy
First Team
Abbey D'Agostino, Dartmouth, So.
Waverly Neer, Columbia, Fr.
Alex Banfich, Princeton, Sr.
Katie Kellner, Cornell, Jr.
Genna Hartung, Cornell, Jr.
Caroline McDonough, Columbia, Jr.
Liana Epstein, Yale, So.

Second Team
Elizabeth Marvin, Yale, Jr.
Clare Buck, Columbia, Jr.
Margaret Connelly, Brown, So.
Emily Shearer, Cornell, So.
Devin McMahon, Cornell, So.
Jeanne Mack, Harvard, Sr.
Heidi Caldwell, Brown, So.