Site Navigation

27 Cross Country Ivies Named USTFCCCA All-Region

27 Cross Country Ivies Named USTFCCCA All-Region

USTFCCCA All-Region Teams | NCAA Women's Championship Info | NCAA Men's Championship Info

NEW ORLEANS -- The Ivy League saw 27 of its cross country runners listed among the 450 athletes who earned U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) All-Region awards, the organization announced Monday. Athletes that finished in the top 25 individually in any one of the nine NCAA Regional Championships received the honor.

Among conferences, the All-Region tally for men was very tight. The SEC came away with the most nods at 23, followed by the Big Ten (22), Pac-12 (22), BIG EAST (22), Big 12 (21), ACC (18) and Ivy League (14).

The Big Ten had 29 women with All-Region honors, the most among the country’s conferences. The Pac-12 (23), SEC (23), BIG EAST (23), ACC (22), Big 12 (18) and Ivy League (13) followed.

On the men’s side, Columbia and Princeton led the way with four recipients apiece. The Lions placed second in the Northeast Region to earn an automatic bid to the NCAA Championship thanks to its All-Region runners, who all finished in the top 15. Junior Jake Sienko placed seventh, followed by seniors Mark Feigen (11th), Mike Murphy (12th) and Leighton Spencer (15th).

The Tigers finished four points shy of automatic qualifier status in the Mid-Atlantic but earned an at-large bid to the NCAAs. Their four All-Region athletes included the Ivy League Heptagonal individual champion Chris Bendsten, who placed third in the Mid-Atlantic, as well as juniors Alejandro Arroyo Yamin (fifth) and Tyler Udland (sixth) and senior Mike Franklin (21st). Junior Jonathan Vitez placed 26th, one second behind the last All-Region honoree, while sophomore Matt McDonald finished two seconds shy of All-Region status in 29th.

Dartmouth and Harvard each placed two on the All-Region team, while Cornell and Yale placed one apiece.

On the women’s side, Cornell and Princeton each saw three of their runners receive All-Region status. The Big Red placed third in the Northeast Region but earned an at-large bid to the NCAA Championship. Senior Katie Kellner and juniors Emily Shearer and Rachel Sorna, who went 1-2-3 in the Ivy League Heptagonal Championship, finished ninth, 15th and 11th in the Northeast, respectively, to earn All-Region honors.

Princeton senior Greta Feldman was named All-Region after finishing eighth in the Mid-Atlantic. She was joined by sophomores Emily De La Bruyere (12th) and Jackie Nicholas (17th). From the Northeast, Brown and Harvard each put two on the All-Region list, while Columbia, Dartmouth and Yale each placed one apiece. Big Green junior Abbey D’Agostino won the Northeast Region individual title for the second-straight season.

Louisville will host the NCAA Division I Cross Country Championships on Saturday, Nov. 17 at E.P. “Tom” Sawyer State Park.

Columbia and Princeton men will each be running, as will the Cornell and Harvard women. Individually, Harvard juniors Maksim Korolev and James Leakos will compete on the men’s side, while Princeton’s Feldman will be joined by Dartmouth’s D’Agostino and Brown junior Margaret Connelly on the women’s side.

The women’s race is slated to begin at Noon, followed by the men’s at 1:15 p.m. A live webcast of the championships will be broadcast on

Ivy League All-Region Selections (Men)
Jake Sienko, Columbia, Northeast Region
Mark Feigen, Columbia, Northeast Region
Mike Murphy, Columbia, Northeast Region
Leighton Spencer, Columbia, Northeast Region
Nick Wade, Cornell, Northeast Region
Will Geoghegan, Dartmouth, Northeast Region
Dylan O’Sullivan, Dartmouth, Northeast Region
Maksim Korolev, Harvard, Northeast Region
James Leakos, Harvard, Northeast Region
Chris Bendtsen, Princeton, Mid-Atlantic Region
Alejandro Arroyo Yamin, Princeton    Mid-Atlantic Region
Tyler Udland, Princeton, Mid-Atlantic Region
Mike Franklin, Princeton, Mid-Atlantic Region
Matthew Nussbaum, Yale, Northeast Region

Ivy League All-Region Selections (Men)
Margaret Connelly, Brown, Northeast Region
Heidi Caldwell, Brown, Northeast Region
Erin Gillingham, Columbia, Northeast Region
Katie Kellner, Cornell, Northeast Region
Rachel Sorna, Cornell, Northeast Region
Emily Shearer, Cornell, Northeast Region
Abbey D’Agostino, Dartmouth, Northeast Region
Emily Reese, Harvard, Northeast Region
Viviana Hanley, Harvard, Northeast Region
Greta Feldman, Princeton, Mid-Atlantic Region
Emily de La Bruyere, Princeton, Mid-Atlantic Region
Jackie Nicholas, Princeton, Mid-Atlantic Region
Liana Epstein, Yale, Northeast Region