Site Navigation

Dartmouth's D'Agostino Named 2012 USTFCCCA Female Scholar Athlete of the Year

Dartmouth's D'Agostino Named 2012 USTFCCCA Female Scholar Athlete of the Year

USTFCCCA Women's Scholar Athlete Release | USTFCCCA Men's Scholar Athlete Release

Portions courtesy of Dartmouth Athletic Communications

NEW ORLEANS -- Dartmouth junior Abbey D'Agostino has been named the 2012 Division I Cross Country Female Scholar Athlete of the Year as announced by the United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) Monday morning.

D'Agostino, a junior from Topsfield, Mass., earned the Female Scholar Athlete of the Year award after finishing as the national runner-up at the 2012 NCAA Championship, while posting a 3.65 cumulative grade-point average as a psychology major through this past fall semester.
The 2012 USTFCCCA Outdoor Track Scholar Athlete of the Year as well, D'Agostino has now been recognized twice on a national level for the combined performances on the track and in the classroom.
D'Agostino missed out on an individual cross country national championship title by less than a second at the NCAA meet in November. Her time of 19:28.6 fell just seven-tenths of a second short of Iowa State's Betsy Saina on the 6K course in Louisville.
The winner of both the 2011 and 2012 Northeast Region Women's Athlete of the Year honors for taking the top spot at the regional championship meets, D'Agostino has proven herself as one of the elite talents in collegiate running in the last two seasons.
Battling through injuries during the fall cross country season, D'Agostino was still a dominant force for the Big Green, winning all but one race she lined up for.
In 2011, D'Agostino was named a member of the USTFCCCA All-Academic Team, a feat she repeated this year in addition to earning the nation's highest academic and performance-based accolade from the sport's most recognized organization.

Moreover, nine Ivies earned USTFCCCA 2012 Cross Country All-Academic Honors. For the women, D'Agostino was joined by Columbia's Erin Gillingham, Cornell's Katie Kellner and Emily Shearer, Princeton's Emily de La Bruyere and Yale's Liana Epstein. On the men's side, Columbia's Mike Murphy, Princeton's Alejandro Arroyo Yamin and Yale's Matt Nussbaum received the honor.

To qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Track and Field Team, the student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 and have either earned USTFCCCA All-America status or finished in the NCAA region's top 15 (or top 10 percent) in 2012.

USTFCCCA 2012 Division I Cross Country All-Academic Honorees
Erin Gllingham, Columbia University
Katie Kellner, Cornell University
Emily Shearer, Cornell University
Abbey D'Agostino, Dartmouth College
Emily de La Bruyere, Princeton University
Liana Epstein, Yale University

Mike Murphy, Columbia University
Alejandro Arroyo Yamin, Princeton University
Matt Nussbaum, Yale University